Spokane Scholars to honor stellar students

Spokane Scholars to honor stellar students

Spokane County students who excel in English, fine arts, mathematics, science, social studies, and world languages, will be honored on April 16 at the 26th annual Spokane Scholars Banquet.

The banquet will be held at the Spokane Convention Center.

A total of 148 students were named Spokane Scholars nominees. Of those 148, the following are from Spokane Public Schools:

Zachary Armstrong, Ferris High School
Jamie Cahill, Rogers High School
Sara Codd, North Central High School
Shayla Ring, Shadle Park High School
Emerson Judd, Lewis & Clark High School

Fine Arts
Ayesha Bergman, Rogers High School
Isabella Harris, North Central High School
Zoe Ruchti, Shadle Park High School
Alaina Stockdill, Ferris High School
Claire Woodard, Lewis & Clark High School

Emma Arbanas, Ferris High School
Michael Lin, Lewis & Clark High School
Kayla Miller, Shadle Park High School
Darius Strobeck, North Central High School
Jonathan Vevang, Rogers High School

Nathan Beine, Ferris High School
Sabra Dunakey, North Central High School
Nicolas Hollon, Lewis & Clark High School
Teigan Mikkelsen, Shadle Park High School
Andrew Radford, Rogers High School

Social Studies
Cheng Lee, Rogers High School
Haily McCleary, Shadle Park High School
Halle Nelson, North Central High School
Lauren Potyk, Ferris High School
Hannah Summers, Lewis & Clark High School

World Language
Jazmyne Borja, Rogers High School
Levi Goris, North Central High School
Alexander Nguyen, Ferris High School
Emma Stalder, Shadle Park High School
Julia Trudeau, Lewis & Clark High School

The Spokane Scholars Foundation will award $60,000 in monetary grants ranging from $1,000 to $4,000 to 24 of the scholars, four each in the six content areas. Consideration for the cash awards include: grade point average and course of study in the content area of nomination, national aptitude and achievement test scores, original research or related activities, and letters of recommendation. A panel of three judges reviews the applications in each content area. Fifteen regional colleges and universities match the monetary awards for recipients who attend those institutions.