Pac12 referee suspended after “mechanics error” in Washington State loss to Cal

Pac12 referee suspended after “mechanics error” in Washington State loss to Cal

The Pac12 issued a suspension for one of their referees after explaining a “mechanics error” was involved in an incorrect penalty given to Washington State, resulting in tough field position in the third quarter of their 33-20 loss to the Cal Bears.

With 10:14 left in the third quarter, refs flagged WSU for illegal hands to the face, but Cougar radio play-by-play announcer Matt Chazanow said the flag should have been against the Bears instead. The penalty put the Cougar offense on its own 8-yard line, when it should have been spotted on Cal’s 35.

The play in question:

This is play incorrectly called against @WSUCougarFB‘s @hd42___. It was 20-11 Cal at this point. Call resulted in a 59 yard swing against WSU. No one is suggesting the result changes on this call, but it’s another example of the ineptness of @pac12 officials. #GoCougs https://t.co/QzkluqKeQu pic.twitter.com/JO48mUjCpg

— Derek Deis (@DerekKXLY) November 10, 2019

Here is the official Statement from the Pac-12:

Pac12 referee suspended after “mechanics error” in Washington State loss to Cal