Washington's car seat laws are changing. New laws go into effect in January 2020, but it is important to be ready for the switch.
Traffic safety officials are using Child Passenger Safety Week (September 15-21) to inform and educate those with small children how to properly use car seats, booster seats and seatbelts.
Starting in January, the following laws will be enforced:
- Children up to age two must ride in a rear-facing car seat.
- Children ages 2-4 years must ride in a car seat with harness (rear or forward-facing)
- Children 4 years and older must ride in a car or booster seat until they are 4'9" tall.
- Children up to age 13 must ride in the back seat when practical.
The American Academy of Pediatrics recommends children remain in each stage of protection for as long as possible.
Safe Kids Spokane offers free car seat safety checks. You can make an appointment for one here.
On Saturday, September 21 they'll hold a free car seat check at Foothills Auto Mall from 10am to 2pm. No appointment is necessary.
- Country music star John Rich to sign whiskey bottles in Moscow
- What one woman says the City of Coeur d'Alene did with the unclaimed money she found
- Celebrate National Bundt Day with a free cake at this local bakery
- Wonder Building set to debut new marketplace featuring local chef, baristas
- University of Washington needs your dog for new aging study
- Newly built Spokane bus stops under construction again, here's why