KXLY4 News honored for best news series

KXLY4 News honored for best news series

KXLY4 News was honored with an Edward R. Murrow Award for our news series, The Cell Block Challenge.

The award, presented by the Radio Television Digital News Association, honors the best in broadcast journalism each year. This year’s awards were announced Wednesday, in honor of Edward R. Murrow’s 110th birthday.

KXLY4’s award was given for small market television in a region that includes Washington, Oregon, Idaho and Alaska.

The series, presented by news director Melissa Luck and production manager Derek Smith, put viewers to the test last fall. The series challenged viewers to spend less time on their phones and more time exploring the world around them. They followed three viewers through a week-long challenge, then asked the audience to take the challenge along with them.

The series now moves onto the national competition.

You can watch the first part of the series here.