Gonzaga punches ticket to the NCAA Tournament

Gonzaga punches ticket to the NCAA Tournament

The Gonzaga University baseball team earned its first-ever at-large berth to the NCAA Division I Baseball Championship on Monday, being selected to play in the Fort Worth Regional on June 3-5.

Gonzaga (35-19) is the No. 3 seed in the regional to be played at TCU and will play No. 2-seed Arizona State (34-21) in opening game at Noon PT/2 p.m. CT. Top-seeded TCU (42-15) will take on Oral Roberts (38-19) on Friday following the GU-ASU game at 4:30 p.m. PT/6:30 p.m. CT. The trip to Fort Worth is also a return for Gonzaga this season as the Zags went 1-2 in a three-game series against TCU on March 4-6.

“Today is a very exciting day for Gonzaga baseball,” said Gonzaga head coach Mark Machtolf. “We received our first at-large bid in program history. We’re very excited for our guys and for the entire athletic department.”

Gonzaga has an overall record of 35-19 during 2016 with 23 of those wins coming in road games, the second-most in the nation. The Bulldogs earned a share of the West Coast Conference regular season title – the third in program history – with an 18-9 conference mark, and their 35 overall wins are the most since 2009.

Last weekend, Gonzaga won two games at the WCC Championship and competed in the tournament’s title game. The Bulldogs opened the tournament with a 5-3 win on the back of Brandon Bailey’s 17 strikeouts on May 26, and they clinched their spot in the conference finale a day later with a Tyler Frost walk-off home run to down Pepperdine.

This is the second time the Zags have competed in the NCAA Tournament during its current Super Regional format. The first came in 2009 when the Zags clinched the WCC’s automatic qualifier with two wins over Loyola Marymount in the WCC Series.

Ticket information will be released as soon as it is available.