Filip Petrusev named to the Wooden Award midseason top-25


LOS ANGELES – Gonzaga’s Filip Petrusev was named to the John R. Wooden Award Midseason Top 25 list, announced by the Los Angeles Athletic Club, Wednesday. The award is presented to the nation’s most outstanding basketball player.

Chosen by a poll of national college basketball experts based on their performances during the first half of the 2019-20 season, the list comprises of 25 student-athletes who are front-runners for the sport’s most prestigious honor.

Petrusev is currently third in the West Coast Conference averaging 16.6 points per game. He is second in the league grabbing 8.1 rebounds per outing and blocking 1.3 shots per contest, and ninth shooting 54.2 percent from the field. The sophomore has reached double-digit scoring in 16 games this season, with a team-high five 20-point performances.

The players on the list are considered strong candidates for the 2020 John R. Wooden Award Men’s Player of the Year presented by Wendy’s. Players not chosen to the preseason list are still eligible for the Wooden Award late season list, and the National Ballot. The National Ballot consists of 15 top players who have proven to their universities that they meet or exceed the qualifications of the Wooden Award. Nearly 1,000 voters will rank in order 10 of those 15 players when voting opens prior to the NCAA Tournament and will allow voters to take into consideration performance during early round games.

The Wooden Award All American Team will be announced the week of the “Elite Eight” round of the NCAA Tournament. The winner of the 2020 John R. Wooden Award will be presented by Wendy’s during the ESPN College Basketball Awards on April 10.

The No. 1/1 Zags (16-1, 2-0 WCC) are at San Diego Thursday, before visiting Loyola Marymount Saturday.

John R. Wooden Award Midseason List

Name School Conference Height Class Position
Precious Achiuwa Memphis American 6-9 Fr. F
Udoka Azubuike Kansas Big 12 7-0 Sr. C
Saddiq Bey Villanova Big East 6-8 So. F
Vernon Carey Jr. Duke ACC 6-10 Fr. C
Anthony Cowan Jr. Maryland Big Ten 6-0 Sr. G
Devon Dotson Kansas Big 12 6-2 So. G
Anthony Edwards Georgia SEC 6-5 Fr. G
Malachi Flynn San Diego State Mountain West 6-1 Jr. G
Luka Garza Iowa Big Ten 6-11 Jr. C
Ashton Hagans Kentucky SEC 6-3 So. G
Tyrese Haliburton Iowa State Big 12 6-5 So. G
Markus Howard* Marquette Big East 5-11 Sr. G
Tre Jones Duke ACC 6-3 So. G
Tyrese Maxey Kentucky SEC 6-3 Fr. G
Jordan Nwora Louisville ACC 6-7 Jr. F
Filip Petrusev Gonzaga WCC 6-11 So. F
Myles Powell Seton Hall Big East 6-2 Sr. G
Payton Pritchard Oregon Pac-12 6-2 Sr. G
Zavier Simpson Michigan Big Ten 6-0 Sr. G
Lamar Stevens Penn State Big Ten 6-8 Sr. F
Isaiah Stewart Washington Pac-12 6-9 Fr. F
Tres Tinkle Oregon State Pac-12 6-7 Sr. F
Obi Toppin Dayton A-10 6-9 So. F
Kaleb Wesson Ohio State Big Ten 6-9 Jr. F
Cassius Winston* Michigan State Big Ten 6-1 Sr. G

* indicates player selected as the 2019 Wooden Award All American