FCS plans to expand playoff field

Eagles win 52-51 thriller over Bobcats

The Football Championship Subdivision is moving swiftly toward expanding its current playoff system from 20 to 24 teams by 2013.
The proposed system seeds the top eight teams and gives them first-round byes and home games in the following round. It would also extend an automatic bid to the Pioneer Football League.
Big South commissioner Kyle Kallander says the move is the next logical step in the development of the FCS playoffs. The proposed expansion is subject to final approval in August.
The Bowl Championship Series is considering new options that could include a four-team playoff. The FCS, formerly known as Division I-AA, has been holding a playoff since 1978. It expanded to 20 teams in 2010.