Eastern Washington Wins Award for 2010 Title Run

Eagles win 52-51 thriller over Bobcats

The Eastern Washington University football team received one more accolade Wednesday for it’s sensational 2010 season, winning “Sports Story of the Year” at the 77th Annual Sports Star of the Year awards show at Benaroya Hal in Seattle, Wash.

The event was hosted by the Seattle Sports Commission.

The winner of the 2010 NCAA Division I Football Championship back on Jan. 7, 2011 with a come-from-behind 20-19 win over Delaware, Eastern beat out four other finalists in fan voting for the award. Head football coach Beau Baldwin and athletic director Bill Chaves accepted the honor on behalf of EWU.

Nominees were selected by the Sports Star of the Year Committee, which is comprised of local sports historians, media and representatives of all major programs and franchises. Since its creation in 1936, there have been nearly 100 Sports Stars honored at this event.

Sports Story of the Year Winner: Eastern Washington Football wins NCAA FCS National Championship

Other Nominees for the Sports Story of the Year . . .

Seahawks stun the Saints in NFC Playoffs Sounders FC wins third straight US Open Cup Locals Hope Solo and Stephanie Cox lead the US Women’s Soccer team to the World Cup Final University of Washington Crew wins third National Title in last five years