Cougars, Vandals, and Eagles selected to preseason All-Conference teams

Cougars, Vandals, and Eagles selected to preseason All-Conference teams

With only a little over a month until kickoff, media from the Pac-12 and Big Sky conferences selected their preseason All-Conference Teams. Here’s a look at local stars who are projected to put up big numbers in the 2019 football season.

Washington State Cougars
On Wednesday Pac-12 Media selected the preseason All-Conference teams. While the list was lead by players from Utah, Oregon and Stanford, some key players from the Cougars earned a spot, and Coug fans have a lot to look forward to next season.

WSU’s only First Team All-Pac-12 player comes on special teams. WSU’s punter Oscar Draguicevich III. He’s on the Ray Guy Award watch list, an award given to the best punter in the NCAA. Last season he put 15 punts inside the 20-yard line, and recorded 13 punts of 50 yards or more.

On offensive Second Team the Cougs have red-shirt sophomore Abe Lucas at O-line. Last year he started 14 games and was rated the second best pass-blocking tackle in the country.

With the Cougars only defensive honors, linebacker Jahad Woods made the preseason second team. Last season he made the All-Pac-12 Second Team. He led the Cougars in forced fumbles with four, and recovered two fumbles and made one interception.

Players who received votes from four or more members of the media received Pac-12 Honorable Mentions. Running back Max Borghi, who notched 12 touchdowns as a true freshman last season earned a spot on the list. He’s primed for a breakout sophomore season and was recently named to the Doak Walker Award Watch list, an award given to the best running back in the country.

Patrick Dezmon earned honorable mention as a wide reciever. Last season he led WSU receiving yards, and going into his final season of eligibility he’s on the Biletnikoff Award, given to the best college receiver.

Travell Harris earned an honorable mention as an all-purpose special teams player. The wide receiver/ kick returner was also placed on the Paul Hornung Award watch list. The Hornung Award is given to the most versatile player in college football, usually a player who excels at both their primary position and special teams.

Eastern Washington Eagles
While Eastern has been projected to win the Big Sky Conference, they have one lone player on the Big Sky First Team. Offensive tackle Chris Schlichting earned the spot as he gears up for his senior season. Last year he started all 15 games for Eastern, earning Second Team Big Sky honors as the eagles finished top 20 in the FCS in total offense, passing, and rushing.

Idaho Vandals
Two Vandals received First Team All-Big-Sky honors. On offense, they have O-lineman Noah Johnson. Last season he made the All-Big-Sky First Team and was the first offensive lineman from Idaho to be named an All-American since 2009.

The other Vandal honored is on special teams, proving the Palouse is pumping out talented punters. Like WSU, the Vandals have a First Team All-Conference punter in Cade Coffey. Last season he made an 80-yard punt, the second longest in school history. He also is the place kicker for the Vandals, going 8-of-11 in field goals and 34-of-36 extra points.