Adam Beckman named WHL Player of the Year

Chiefs’ forward becomes second player in franchise history to earn top league award
Copyright 4 News Now

SPOKANE, Wash. – Spokane Chiefs forward Adam Beckman has earned the Four Broncos Memorial Trophy as the Western Hockey League’s Player of the Year for the 2019-20 season. He is just the second Chief to win the award, joining Spokane legend and long-time NHL star Ray Whitney (1990-91).

An 18-year-old forward from Saskatoon, Sask., Beckman had a season Chiefs fans will not soon forget. Among all WHL skaters, he ranked first in points (107), goals (48) and shots on goal (316), tied for third in assists (59), fifth in plus-minus (+44), second in power play goals (16) and second in game-winning goals (9).

He is the first Spokane player to eclipse the 100-point mark since “Top 35 Chiefs in 35 Years” member Mitch Holmberg led the league in 2013-14. Beckman, Holmberg and Tyler Johnson (2010-11) are the only Chiefs to make the century club since 1994. Beckman was the only player in the league to the milestone this season.

He is the first Chief to lead the team in goals for two consecutive seasons since Drayson Bowman did so in during the 2007-08 (42) and 2008-09 (47) campaigns. Beckman scored 32 to lead the club last season on his way to the team’s Rookie of the Year award.

Beckman set a new franchise record in December and January, scoring a goal in 10 consecutive games. The frenzy was part of a league-best 18-game point streak, one greater than teammate Eli Zummack’s 17-gamer.

Selected by Minnesota in the third round of the 2019 NHL Entry Draft and signed to an entry-level contract in late March, Beckman posted eight multi-goal games during the 2o19-20 season, including three hat tricks. He had three five-point efforts and 14 games with three or more points. During the Chiefs’ 10-game win streak to finish the year, he posted nine goals and 10 assists for 19 points.

He was twice selected as the WHL’s On The Run Player of the Week and earned the league’s Player of the Month distinction for his production in December. He was originally a fifth-round selection (96th overall) by the Chiefs in the 2016 WHL Bantam Draft.

With 169 points (80G-89A) in 132 career regular season games, he ranks 10th in franchise history in points per game at 1.28. In 15 career playoff games, he has contributed eight goals and four assists for 12 points.

Beckman joins Chiefs captain and New Jersey Devils prospect Ty Smith as WHL Award winners this season. Smith was named recipient of the Bill Hunter Memorial Trophy as the league’s top defenseman for the second-straight year.

Beckman was chosen over Eastern Conference Player of the Year Dylan Cozens of the Lethbridge Hurricanes.