Washington State's Falk named a Manning Award Finalist

PULLMAN, Wash. - Washington State quarterback Luke Falk was named one of 10 finalists for the Manning Award, the Allstate Sugar Bowl announced Wednesday. The Manning Award is the only college football quarterback award that includes the candidates' bowl performances in its balloting.

Falk finished the regular season third in the NCAA in completion percentage (71.0), passing (350.3), passing yards (4,204), and tied for fourth passing touchdowns (37). The Logan, Utah native and All-Pac-12 second team selection posted nine 300-yard games this season including three games of 400-plus yards. Falk guided WSU to an 8-4 regular season including a 7-2 mark in Pac-12 play. He will enter the Cougars bowl game second in school history for single-season touchdown passes (37) and second for career touchdown passes (88).

Falk was named a Manning Award Star of the Week three times this season including national quarterback of the week Oct. 10 after the win at No. 15 Stanford.

The Manning Award winner will be announced after the bowls in January and will be honored at a ceremony in New Orleans. The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in honor of the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that takes the candidates' bowl performances into consideration in its balloting.

Falk is also a finalist for the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award, Burlsworth Trophy (Top former walk-on) and a semifinalist for the Maxwell Award, Davie O'Brien Award and Walter Camp Player of the Year.

The finalists for this year's Manning Award are:

J.T. Barrett, Sr., Ohio State

Jake Browning, So., Washington

Sam Darnold, Fr., USC

Luke Falk, Sr., Washington State

Jalen Hurts, Fr., Alabama

Lamar Jackson, So., Louisville
Patrick Mahomes II, Jr., Texas Tech

Baker Mayfield, Sr., Oklahoma

Zach Terrell, Sr., Western Michigan

Deshaun Watson, Jr., Clemson