SPOKANE, Wash. -

Chiefs Annual Fall Camp begins today as more than 65 participants immediately become part of a yearly tradition. All players have been evenly distributed into three teams, each carrying the last name of a notable former Chief leader. This year’s teams honor Kevin Sawyer (1992-95), Jared Cowen (2006-10) and Tyler Johnson (2007-10).

Participants include 38 forwards, 21 defensemen, and seven goaltenders. Competition is intense as players compete for their position on the final roster. With the departure of last year’s leading scorer Brenden Kichton, it is to be determined which players will step up to score this season. Returning forwards Mitch Holmberg and Mike Aviani bring a significant veteran scoring presence, as 2nd and 4th-leading scorers respectfully, but many others are looking to contribute.

Among the forwards looking to put the puck in the net are newcomers Adam Hascic and Dominic Zwerger, the Chiefs’ 2013 CHL Import Draft selections. Both imports are participating in their first WHL camp this week.

All camp ice sessions will be free and open to the public. Fans are encouraged to enter through the Chiefs Office located at the southeast corner of Spokane Arena.

Thursday, August 22
10:30-12:15 – Team Johnson vs. Team Cowen
1:00-2:45 – Team Johnson vs. Team Sawyer
3:30-5:15 – Team Cowen vs. Team Sawyer
Friday, August 23
11:00-12:45 – Team Cowen vs. Team Sawyer
1:30-3:15 – Team Cowen vs. Team Johnson
4:00-5:45 – Team Johnson vs. Team Sawyer
Saturday, August 24
10:00-11:45 – Team Sawyer vs. Team Johnson
12:30-2:15 – Team Sawyer vs. Team Cowen
4:00-5:45 – Team Cowen vs. Team Johnson
Sunday, August 25
1:00-3:15 – Red/White Game