Big Ten adopts nine-game conference schedule

New schedule goes into effect in 2017

Published On: Aug 05 2011 11:14:23 AM PDT
closeup of football laces

The Big Ten announced Thursday that it will use a nine-game conference schedule starting with the 2017 season.

The Big Ten has played eight-conference games every season since 1985, but the proposed change comes with the arrival of Nebraska as the 12th member of the conference.

Beginning in 2017, three teams from each division will play five conference home games, alternating years with the remaining six teams.

The new nine-game model will see that all teams meet one another at least six times over a 10-year period, as opposed to the four times under the current schedule.