PASCO, Wash. -

Three new schools in Pasco focusing on science and technology will be named for female scientists.

The Tri-City Herald reports the school board approved the names at Tuesday's meeting: Rosalind Franklin, Barbara McLintock and Marie Curie.

Franklin contributed to the study of DNA. McClintock worked in genetics. Curie is known for her work in radioactivity.