Idaho is introducing a series of laws with the start of a new month.
The debuting legislation includes a ban on sales of electronic cigarettes to minors and a law that makes texting behind the wheel an infraction that will set violators back $85.
Idaho is now the 37th state to enact a texting-while-driving ban.
Drivers can no longer text and drive or browse the internet when behind the wheel. However if you have a hands free or voice activated device you are OK.
"If it's voice activated where you can get the message by voice or if you can do the entry by voice that's fine. But if you have to manually enter or manually read it that's not fine," said Major Ben Wolfinger with the Kootenai County Sheriff's Department.
If caught, people can get fined $85 and a citation but it doesn't count against your insurance.
Under this law people can still make phone calls when driving.
Other new state laws aim to protect youth athletes from concussions and put felony animal cruelty penalties on Idaho's books for the first time.
Another law requires massage therapists to obtain a license and aims to help regulate the industry.
The measures were approved by the 2012 Idaho Legislature and took effect Sunday, which also marked the start of a new fiscal year.