Southern Clearwater Mountains

Winter Storm Warning:

Issued at: 3:39 am MST on December 27, 2014, expires at: 10:00 PM PST on December 28, 2014
  • ...Winter Storm Warning in effect from 11 am MST /10 am PST/ this morning to 11 PM MST /10 PM PST/ Sunday... The National Weather Service in Missoula has issued a Winter Storm Warning for heavy snow...which is in effect from 11 am MST /10 am PST/ this morning to 11 PM MST /10 PM PST/ Sunday. The Winter Storm Watch is no longer in effect.
  • Impacts/timing: snow will develop this morning and become moderate to heavy at times this afternoon into Sunday morning. Snowfall rates of 1 to 2 inches or more per hour may occur at times. Travel will become difficult due to slick snow covered roads...periods of heavy snow...and reduced visibility.
  • Snow accumulations: 4 to 8 inches in the valleys... 10 to 15 inches in the higher terrain and over Lolo and lost trail passes. Amounts could be locally higher.
  • Locations impacted include...Elk River...Highway 11 Pierce to Headquarters...Pierce...Dixie...Elk City...Highway 12 Lowell to Lolo Pass...Highway 93 Sula to Lost Trail Pass...Lolo Pass Precautionary/preparedness actions... A Winter Storm Warning for heavy snow means severe winter weather conditions are expected or occurring. Significant amounts of snow are forecast that will make travel dangerous. Only travel in an emergency. If you must travel...keep an extra flashlight... food...and water in your vehicle in case of an emergency.
Advertisement

Listen To KXLY 920 Live

Advertisement

E-News Registration

Most Popular

Advertisement

Multimedia

Facebook

Twitter